October 31, 1907 Leoria attends a Halloween Party

 

1907halloweencard

 

 

 

 

 

Our grandmother, Leoria, attended quite the Halloween party in October 1907. She was just 3, two months from her 4th birthday. Thirty children and many adults in a home with all those costumes must have been overwhelming for a little girl. Also, as I look at cards and images from the celebration of Halloween in at that time, it's pretty scary.

This postcard is innocent enough.  The next one may be a good representation of the decorations that may have been found at 186 Main Street in Binghamton, New York that night.

 

 

 

 

 

 

1907halloweencard2

 

 

 

The newspaper article below details the people, the decor, the activities and the entertainment little Leoria participated in that day in October 1907.

1907 birthday halloween party jpg

 

 

One thought on “October 31, 1907 Leoria attends a Halloween Party

  1. Thanks everyone for your kind words about the cake. I apiatcpree all your comments and yes the cake was very tasty! It wasn’t that hard and I am sure everyone could do it if I can. I had a lot of fun making it and was watching Millennium while doing it, not The Curse of Frank Black but Thirteen Years Later, another great episode. Im afraid I do not have a vegan version of the recipe frankblack 13 I do not know anything about vegan cooking but am always willing to learn! Josef, I will take on the baking and you keep up with the videos and lets show those X-Philes!!! Seriously I really apiatcpree Mark for asking me to do this and was honored that he had thought of me. I love baking and anytime we need anything baked for Millennium Im your girl! It may not be the best looking but everything I do is from the heart, I think with my heart and put all of it into everything I do I think this campaign has the best, most passionate, loving people on earth! Thanks once again for the kind words and compliments! This is Who We Are!! laura

    Like

Comments are closed.