Nancy Barber

Family Stories (copyrighted)


LP, TB & Original Island Sport

Original Island Sport Vintage Dress Pic from eBay seller

This week I got to spend a morning thrift shopping and found a dress from “Original Island Sport” in rayon weave with a wonderful drape, as that fabric does. After a little research on the spot, it seems Tommy Bahama had a division back in the 1990s named “Original Island Sport”.

Lilly Pulitzer and Tommy Bahama are currently owned by Oxford Industries. My TB dresses resemble the same pink and navy color of my LP items. I noticed the similarities which I confirmed with a little research into an Oxford Industries charge on my account a few months ago.

Lilly Pulitzer first dresses used Key West Handprint fabric. You can still find the KWH label on some clothes.

The history of these labels is interesting. Now OXM trades on the NYSE, and the quality is different from both Lilly Pulitzer and Tommy Bahama. (And, the price tag is outrageous.)

But, I found an oldie in the wild! (for $7.00)

Have a good week and visit around the blogs linking up to Beverly’s Pink Saturday! It’s a good thing.

My 93 year old mother went to ECF yesterday, 1200 miles away. I want to document that for myself, but also explain that my thoughts are elsewhere.



About Me

Ancestor stories using information from newspapers and public records.

In mid-February, I began writing daily for #the100dayproject.

Newsletter